Westpac Altitude Rewards Black
Churn value: $285 in flights.
You pay $275 in first-year fees.Spend $12,000 in 365 days.You get 37,333 Krisflyer points, worth about $560 in flights.
The recorded minimum requirements are that you earn at least $75,000 a year and can take a credit limit of at least $6,000. Meeting them does not guarantee approval.
It is only worth it if you pay in full each month and close the card before the next $370 fee.
This page is my best effort to summarise the card's terms from the information I found. Read the bank's terms for full details, or contact the bank if you have questions.
I'd like to use my bonus for:
Can I get this?
This offer is advertised to the public. Bonus conditions and the bank’s approval requirements still apply.
Can I get this bonus if I have held a card before?
Existing Westpac customers who currently hold an Earth Classic, Earth Platinum, Earth Platinum Plus, Earth Black, Altitude Classic, Altitude Platinum or Altitude Black credit card, or who have held one in the last 24 months, are not eligible for this offer. The wait is 24 months, from the last date you held one of these cards. If you hold one now, you cannot get this bonus.
See the waiting rules for every Australian bank →What must I spend?
$12,000 within 365 days — about $986 per month.
Can I get the card?
The minimum credit limit is $6,000. This is the least the bank may let you borrow.
You must earn at least $75,000 a year.
Meeting the bonus rules does not mean the bank will approve your application. The bank must assess and approve the card separately.
How long is this available?
I do not have an end date for this offer.
What do I do, step by step?
- Apply. Check the income and waiting rules in “Can I get this?” first. If you do not pass those, the bonus does not come.
- Spend $12,000 in 365 days on bills and shopping you had to pay anyway. Do not buy extra things just to hit the number.
- Pay in full each month. Interest can eat the whole bonus. The churn value at the top assumes you never pay interest.
- Use the points for flights. Points you never use are worth zero.
- Close the card before the next fee — keeping it costs $370 a year. The next section helps you decide if keeping it is worth it.
When this is not worth it
- You pay interest, or you cannot pay in full each month.
- You buy things you do not need to hit the spend target.
- You have no trip or use in mind for the points.
- You keep the card into year two out of habit and pay the fee again.
Should I keep it after the first year?
Keeping the card costs $370 each year ($295 annual fee + $75 program fee) — the first year was $275.
The year-two bonus is 100,000 Westpac points.
Ongoing earn: 1.00x Westpac points per $1.
Keeping pays off only if you meet the second-year conditions and use the points and benefits enough to cover $370/yr.
What else makes the card useful?
Reward use
Ways to turn points into value.
- Points Transfer Benefits Compare across cards →Altitude Points can be redeemed/transferred to partner airline frequent flyer programs (including Qantas and Velocity) and other partners under the Altitude Rewards program; a joining fee may apply
More detailsLess details
Altitude Points can be redeemed/transferred to partner airline frequent flyer programs (including Qantas and Velocity) and other partners under the Altitude Rewards program; a joining fee may apply
Purchase protection
Cover on things you buy with the card. Limits, excesses, and activation conditions apply.
- Purchase Protection Insurance Compare across cards →Up to 4 months cover for eligible items charged to the card against theft, accidental damage or permanent loss; up to $10,000 per item ($3,500 for jewellery, watches and new works of art), $135,000 max per 12-month period, $300 excess
More detailsLess details
Up to 4 months cover for eligible items charged to the card against theft, accidental damage or permanent loss; up to $10,000 per item ($3,500 for jewellery, watches and new works of art), $135,000 max per 12-month period, $300 excess
- Extended Warranty Insurance Compare across cards →Extends the manufacturer's Australian warranty by an equal period up to a maximum of 2 years (no cover where the manufacturer's warranty exceeds 5 years) on covered products charged to the card; up to $20,000 per product and per card account per 12 months, $300 excess
More detailsLess details
Extends the manufacturer's Australian warranty by an equal period up to a maximum of 2 years (no cover where the manufacturer's warranty exceeds 5 years) on covered products charged to the card; up to $20,000 per product and per card account per 12 months, $300 excess
Travel
Travel cover and perks. Most need qualifying bookings or payment with the card.
- Lounge Access Compare across cards →2 visits/year · Priority Pass
More detailsLess details
2 complimentary Priority Pass airport lounge visits per 12-month period for the primary cardholder (one may be used by an accompanying guest); requires enrolment at prioritypass.com/westpacblack; unused visits do not carry forward and further visits incur the Priority Pass member/guest fee
- Travel Insurance Compare across cards →Complimentary International Travel Insurance for trips up to 6 months (Level 1 / Altitude Black card) when at least $500 of prepaid travel costs are charged to the card and a return overseas ticket is held; covers unlimited overseas emergency medical, evacuation and cancellation…
More detailsLess details
Complimentary International Travel Insurance for trips up to 6 months (Level 1 / Altitude Black card) when at least $500 of prepaid travel costs are charged to the card and a return overseas ticket is held; covers unlimited overseas emergency medical, evacuation and cancellation among other sections (sub-limits apply). Also includes complimentary Interstate Flight Inconvenience Insurance for domestic flights charged to the card (cancellation up to $3,000, flight delay, luggage). Cardholders aged under 81. Eligibility confirmation at checkyourcover.com.au/westpac
- Rental Vehicle Insurance Compare across cards →Rental Vehicle Excess in Australia Insurance covers rental vehicle excess up to the amount in the rental agreement or $5,500 (whichever is lesser) when the full rental is charged to the card; $300 excess
More detailsLess details
Rental Vehicle Excess in Australia Insurance covers rental vehicle excess up to the amount in the rental agreement or $5,500 (whichever is lesser) when the full rental is charged to the card; $300 excess
- Transit Accident Insurance Compare across cards →Overseas Transit Accident Insurance covers specified accidental death or injury sustained overseas while riding, boarding or alighting as a passenger on a plane, bus, train or short-haul ferry, when the entire trip tickets were purchased on the card before departure
More detailsLess details
Overseas Transit Accident Insurance covers specified accidental death or injury sustained overseas while riding, boarding or alighting as a passenger on a plane, bus, train or short-haul ferry, when the entire trip tickets were purchased on the card before departure
Account management
Tools for running the account — repayment helpers, not reward value.
- No Annual Fee Compare across cards →No annual Altitude Rewards Program fee. Reduced first year card fee of $200 (or $99 for existing Westpac customers) for Altitude Rewards Black card, reverting to $295 thereafter.
More detailsLess details
No annual Altitude Rewards Program fee. Reduced first year card fee of $200 (or $99 for existing Westpac customers) for Altitude Rewards Black card, reverting to $295 thereafter.
- No International Transaction Fee Compare across cards →Foreign transaction fee of 3% applies on foreign currency transactions or transactions processed overseas.
More detailsLess details
Foreign transaction fee of 3% applies on foreign currency transactions or transactions processed overseas.
- Concierge Service Compare across cards →Personal Concierge Service exclusive to Altitude Black cardholders, provided by Ten Lifestyle Services, to book experiences, hard-to-get tickets and last-minute restaurant reservations online or via Lifestyle Managers on 1300 651 999
More detailsLess details
Personal Concierge Service exclusive to Altitude Black cardholders, provided by Ten Lifestyle Services, to book experiences, hard-to-get tickets and last-minute restaurant reservations online or via Lifestyle Managers on 1300 651 999
- Digital Wallet Integration Compare across cards →Supports Apple Pay, Samsung Pay and Google Pay
More detailsLess details
Supports Apple Pay, Samsung Pay and Google Pay
- Digital Card Issuance Compare across cards →Instant Digital Card available from the moment the account is opened, before the physical card arrives
More detailsLess details
Instant Digital Card available from the moment the account is opened, before the physical card arrives
- Online Banking Features Compare across cards →Card management tools including PartPay, SmartPlan, Balance Transfers, Card Autopay and SMS payment reminders
More detailsLess details
Card management tools including PartPay, SmartPlan, Balance Transfers, Card Autopay and SMS payment reminders
- Buy Now Pay Later Compare across cards →PartPay feature splits eligible purchases into 4 payments over 6 weeks; turn on to start using
More detailsLess details
PartPay feature splits eligible purchases into 4 payments over 6 weeks; turn on to start using
- Installment Plans Compare across cards →SmartPlan lets cardholders set up fixed instalment payment plans on the card account
This is a repayment plan. It does not add reward value.
More detailsLess details
SmartPlan lets cardholders set up fixed instalment payment plans on the card account
- Balance Transfer Offers Compare across cards →Balance Transfers available on the account; specific rate and term not stated on the offer page
More detailsLess details
Balance Transfers available on the account; specific rate and term not stated on the offer page
- Interest Free Periods Compare across cards →Up to 45 days interest-free on purchases when the closing balance is paid in full by the due date; cash advances are not covered
More detailsLess details
Up to 45 days interest-free on purchases when the closing balance is paid in full by the due date; cash advances are not covered
- No Additional Cardholder Fee Compare across cards →1 additional cardholder (16 years or older) can be added at no extra cost
More detailsLess details
1 additional cardholder (16 years or older) can be added at no extra cost
37,333 Krisflyer points at 1.5¢ a point − $275 in first-year fees. This is flight value, not cash. It assumes you earn the bonus and pay in full.
This offer is open now (terms from 13 Oct 2026).
What this calculation assumes
- You make the required purchases and the bonus is paid.
- You pay the balance in full — any interest changes the outcome.
- The required spend is ordinary planned spending, not extra cost.
- You close the card before the next annual fee, or you decide keeping it is worth that fee.
Did this help you make a decision?
Terms and evidence
Full current terms
Offer terms
First Year Points
100,000 points
Westpac
Second Year Points
100,000 points
With $295 annual fee
Minimum Spend
$12,000
within 365 days
Ongoing Earn Rate
1.00x points per $1 spent
Fees
First Year Annual Fee
$200
Ongoing Annual Fee
$295
From year 2 onwards
Program Fee
$75
Additional fee for reward program participation
Purchase Interest Rate
23.98% p.a.
The value above assumes you pay in full and never pay this. Any interest changes the outcome.
Benefit history (11 changes)
- Travel InsuranceUpdated May 2026
- Digital Card IssuanceUpdated May 2026
- Digital Wallet IntegrationUpdated May 2026
- Buy Now Pay LaterUpdated May 2026
- Concierge ServiceUpdated May 2026
- No Additional Cardholder FeeUpdated May 2026
- Lounge AccessUpdated May 2026
Now 2 visits/year · Priority Pass.
- Transit Accident InsuranceUpdated May 2026
- Purchase Protection InsuranceUpdated May 2026
- Extended Warranty InsuranceUpdated May 2026
- Rental Vehicle InsuranceUpdated May 2026
Offer terms history (4 versions — old terms, for checking)
These are published versions of this offer's terms. Each version preserves the conditions available at that time.
Published 13 Oct 2026
Availability changed from ended to available; conditions unchanged.
Changes from terms version 2
Changes from terms version 1
First recorded terms
Captures behind the selected terms record — evidence for these terms, not a complete history of the named offer.
Discussion
About the current terms (published 13 Oct 2026).
Community and personal tools
Track this card, or suggest a correction. Sign-in required.
